Understanding 7 Things about ASEAN

Founded in 1967, ASEAN today encompasses Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam—economies at vastly different stages of development but all sharing immense growth potential. This McKinsey Report shares seven insights that provide a snapshot of one of the world’s most diverse, fast-moving, and competitive regions. The region’s growth has been stable since 2000. By 2025, the number of consuming households in ASEAN is expected to almost double.